Reading Time:

Published: November 23, 2022

Written by: Isabella Aslam

  • There will be new subdivisions for Gold, Platinum, and Diamond
  • Ubisoft will introduce a new rank, Emerald, placed between Plat and Diamond
  • The players’ MMR will also be calculated in a different way

Arriving on December 6 alongside Operation Solar Raid, R6: Siege’s new Ranked 2.0 system promises a smoother progression through competitive play.

How Does the Old System Work?

With its tight corners, complicated maps, various gadgets, and emphasis on teamplay and tactics, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege has been one of the most popular competitive shooters in the past few years. However, with the arrival of Operation Solar Raid, Ubisoft announced it will be releasing a new MMR system alongside the Ranked 2.0 overhaul.

Previously, players had to go through seven divisions in order to reach the highest Champion division. These are, in order, Copper, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, and finally, Champion. Additionally, there were five subdivisions from Copper to Silver, and three subdivisions for Gold and Platinum. Meanwhile, Diamond and Champion had just one sub-division each. 

A player’s place in this ranking ladder was based on their MMR, with the starting one being 2 500, which is around the mid-Silver level. Of course, depending on how the player performs, they could quickly fall far below that. Summarized, the whole system used to look like this:

  • Copper V – I (0 to 1500 MMR)
  • Bronze V – I (1500 to 2000 MMR)
  • Silver V – I (2000 to 2500 MMR)
  • Gold III – I (2600 to 3200 MMR)
  • Platinum III – I (3200 to 4400 MMR)
  • Diamond – (4400 to 5000 MMR)
  • Champion – (5000+ MMR)

However, with the release of Operation Solar Raid on December 6, R6: Siege will have a revamped system.

What Are the Changes?

There are two main changes to R6’s ranking system coming to the game next month. The first one is the introduction of more subdivisions for the Gold, Platinum, and Diamond ranks. All three of them will now have five subdivisions each, just like ranks Copper to Silver. 

Another major change coming to the game is the inclusion of a whole new rank – Emerald. It will be placed right between Platinum and Diamond, and just like them and the others, it will also have five subdivisions. This marks out Champion as the only rank with one and not five subdivisions. Players will now theoretically have to go through 35 divisions before they hit Champion, assuming they are placed in the very bottom Copper V after they play their first few competitive matches. 

The reason for these changes is that the top levels of the game have always been somewhat difficult to bridge. In lower ranks, players need to gather 100 MMR in order to advance to the next subdivision. But when one wants to get from, let’s say, Plat III to Plat II, one has to gather 300 MMR. Adding more subdivisions doesn’t change the total MMR a player needs to advance from one rank to the next, but it makes the process seem less frustrating as there will be more and easier steps, each one with its own reward.

The Emerald rank plays the same role, but to bridge the gap between Platinum and Diamond. Additionally, the squad MMR restrictions are gone, meaning you can queue with any friends regardless of their rank. The matchmaking will be determined by a new algorithm, regardless of the MMR of squad mates. The revamped ranks will look like this:

  • Copper V, IV, III, II, I
  • Bronze V, IV, III, II, I
  • Silver V, IV, III, II, I
  • Gold V, IV, III, II, I
  • Platinum V, IV, III, II, I
  • Emerald V, IV, III, II, I
  • Diamond V, IV, III, II, I
  • Champions
Check out Bitcasino for the best bonuses

From our 5 star review…

“In fact, we would argue that Bitcasino’s esports product is one of the best we have experienced. It’s simple, clear-cut, and offers a variety of products and options that other platforms are failing to deliver on.”