Reading Time:

Published: October 12, 2023

Written by: Stefan Velikov

  • The tournament organizer has readjusted the starting times of the event’s matches
  • This is so they are at more convenient times for the European audience
  • ESL also revealed the full list of broadcasting talent and commentators

IEM Sydney will be the first tournament that the ESL will organize on Counter-Strike 2, which necessitates the last-minute adjustment of its broadcast times.

ESL Reveals Changes and Broadcast Talents

We are just a few days away from the start of the IEM Sydney and the ESL, the organizer of the event, is making some last-minute preparations. Some of this includes an adjustment to the tournament’s schedule allowing one hour for best-of-ones and three and a half hours for best-of-threes.

What this means is that the opening best-of-ones matches will begin an hour and a half later. This delay allows the latter half of tournament days to still be available to watch for European viewers, although most of the matches will be played early in the morning for most of the continent.

The ESL came to this decision thanks to data collected on ESL’s first three online events on CS2. Although the average map duration at the tournament organizer’s big CS:GO LANs was consistently around the one-hour mark, it ranged quite a bit. For example, ESL Challenger Jönköping open qualifier’s best-of-ones averaged about 35 minutes while the event’s best-of-threes lasted for around 52 minutes each.

It should also be noted that the IEM Sydney will be ESL’s first in-person tournament in Counter-Strike 2. As a consequence, the event’s importance is raised quite a bit, necessitating the organizers to give more attention to the matches’ times. Much of the reputation of CS2 depends on how its first major tournament plays out. Therefore, it would be beneficial for all parties involved for the IEM Sydney to reach as many viewers as possible, and Europe has always been a big source of them.

The event’s hosting and casting talent also play an important part in how the event is perceived. The tournament organizer finalized and revealed the list of the crew, which consists of the following Australian talents, in addition to the usual tier-one names that regular viewers will be familiar with:


  • Tres “⁠stunna⁠” Saranthus
  • Freya “⁠Freya⁠” Spiers


  • Janko “⁠YNk⁠” Paunović
  • Aleksandar “⁠kassad⁠” Trifunović
  • Sudhen “⁠Bleh⁠” Wahengbam


  • Chad “⁠SPUNJ⁠” Burchill
  • Alex “⁠Machine⁠” Richardson
  • James “⁠BARDOLPH⁠” Bardolph
  • Alex “⁠hawka⁠” Hawkins
  • Jordan “⁠Elfishguy⁠” Mays
  • Mitchell “⁠pilski⁠” Pilipowski
  • Geordie “⁠Mac⁠” McAleer
  • James “jimNeso” Cowan


  • Mitch “⁠Conky⁠” Concanen
  • Anastasija “⁠Heccu⁠” Tolmačeva
Check out Bitcasino for the best bonuses

From our 5 star review…

“In fact, we would argue that Bitcasino’s esports product is one of the best we have experienced. It’s simple, clear-cut, and offers a variety of products and options that other platforms are failing to deliver on.”


Similar posts